2018: Horror Films to look out for!

Happy new year! and with a new year, comes a whole slate of horror movies to look forward to, here are a selection I can’t wait to check out!

Insidious: The Last Key

I have thoroughly enjoyed the previous 3 instalments of the Insidious franchise, James Wan (The Conjuring, Saw, Dead Silence) & Leigh Whallen (Saw, Dead Silence) have done a fantastic job creating this world of horrific demons and ghouls! Once again follow Lin Shay’s Elise Rainier through more of her paranormal investigation, this time seeking out an entity that haunted her childhood. This film is released January 12th here in the UK so it will most likely be my first full review on this blog so keep an eye out for that!

The New Mutants

As we saw Logan and Deadpool (both fantastic films), Fox has been incorporating further genre elements in to their films, Logan having a dramatic western setting, whilst Deadpool going for a comedic style. Following suit, The New Mutants has taken on a horror/psychological thriller genre style and as an X-men fan, I could not be more excited to see how this turns out. The New Mutants has a strong lead cast consisting of Anya Taylor-Joy (The Witch, Split), Masie Williams (Game of Thrones) and Charlie Heaton (Stranger Things) has myself and many others very excited!

Annihilation

Annihilation is a Sci-Fi Horror/Thriller starring Natalie Portman as a Biologist in search of her missing husband (Oscar Isaac) who has disappeared in what can only be described as an ethereal plain that has appeared on Earth. Annihilation appears to be rich with tension and fantastical creature designs in order to create a fresh and terrifying original story.

The Nun

Another venture in to the Conjuring universe? Count me in! Despite the short comings of the first Annabelle film, the franchise as a whole has been strong staple of modern horror. After seeing Annabelle: Creation, I have faith that those running the franchise have since learned how to helm a strong spin off film. Not many plot details have been released yet, but with a franchise this strong, I have (cautiously) high hopes.

Halloween

I was hesitant at the thought of a new Halloween film, I adore the original and I personally enjoyed Rob Zombie’s remake, but after Danny McBride being announced as director, Blumhouse producing, Jamie Lee-Curtis returning as Laurie Strode and John Carpenter being heavily involved in the creation of the film, as well as writing the music (words can not describe how happy this makes me)! So, while I am excited to see what is done with this much beloved story, I am once again cautiously optimistic.

Other Films that may, or may not be worth seeing.

There are many other horror films coming out this year that have a lot of interest but personally the jury is out on whether or not I will be heading out to see these films.

The Strangers: Prey at Night

The follow up to a fantastic film that personally feel should be left as a contained story. I would loved to be proven wrong as I loved the first film and would hate to see it become a franchise for the sake of nothing more than profit.

Slenderman

I loved the Slenderman lore and game but this film seems a bit late for the hype (about 5 years too late) but who knows, hopefully that is because it is a strong story and not just an out of touch cash grab.

Venom

Tom Hardy stars as Spiderman’s dark, monstrous antithesis. While I have a great deal of faith in Hardy as an actor, but I do not understand how Sony plan to put together a film set in the Spiderman universe, without Spiderman.

I’m sure many more films will be announced through out the year that I will that I will get to in time, but these are the films I am looking forward to that I am aware of so far for this year! Fingers crossed we have another great year of horror!

Leave a comment